Golden Outback Region

Being the largest region of Western Australia, the Golden Outback region is made up of four sub-regions, these being the Gascoyne-Murchison, Wheatbelt, Esperance-coast and Goldfields region.

Stretching from the South Australian border on the south coast, all the way up to the red landscapes of Mount Augustus, the Golden Outback region is home to vastly different landscapes, destinations, and natural attractions.

Well-known icons in the Gold Outback include the amazing beaches of Esperance and the south coast, the wonders of the Kennedy Ranges, and the well-known Waves Rock.

Top places to visit

Looking right at wave rock western australia
Wave Rock (Hyden)
Esperance Tanker Jetty
Esperance Jetty


Below is a collection of destinations within the Golden Outback region of Western Australia:

A Kangaroo at Lucky Bay Beach in Esperance

More information

If you’re looking for more information on the Golden Outback region, be sure to head over to the official Tourism of WA, Golden Outback website at

Other West Australian Regions

Alternatively, if you keen to check out other regions in the area check out the links below:

Looking right at wave rock western australia
Esperance and the Golden Outback
The willie pearl lugger cruising past a sunset in Broome WA
North West
Margaret River in the south west region of Western Australia
Margaret River Region
aerial view of ningaloo reef western australia
Ningaloo and the Coral Coast
Aerial view of the Swan River in Western Australia
Perth and Surrounds
View of big brook dam facing north
The South West
Scroll to Top